UT Tyler Patriots

UT Tyler University Advancement

More than $2 million in scholarship dollars have been raised in the past 30 years!

More opportunities to qualify and win great prizes!

More lighting on the greens so you can keep swinging after dark - every day!

2017 Patriots

 2017 Patriots

Front Row (left to right): Carleen Dark, Courtney Tarrant, Lori Coe, Ingrid Young (Patriots President),  Mandee Montana, Seth Zindler, Donna Cummings, Robert Wilson

Second Row: Tom Seale, Emily Kendall, Kearby Dickeson, Carmen Carpenter, Jon Honea, Cory Bowler

Back Row: Brooke Droptini, Cindy Brady, Tabitha Ostmeyer, Ryan Bailes, Allen Clarida (Hole-in-One Chairman), Joey Morris

Not Pictured: Rowe Anderson, Hank Baker, Brad Bays, Garnett Brookshire, Laura Corbett, Jeff Cheavens, Alex Collins, Jeremy Cozad, Brooke Droptini, Denver Dyer, Amanda Folmar, Amy Fouse, Drew Greene, Clark Hampe, Jr., Kendra Hassell, Kirk Hopkins, Carrie Anne Moore, James Sheridan, Chris Simons, Monette Taylor, Stacie Walker, Michael Wallace

This contest offers amateur golfers age 18 and older the opportunity to compete, at $1 per shot, in preliminary daily rounds. Daily qualifiers are those who hit a hole-in-one, as well as those who hit closest to the hole during the daily qualifying rounds. Those who qualify advance to the finals. Qualifiers have the opportunity to win $1 million, $25,000 or a 2017 Cadillac XT5 with a hole-in-one. The first person that hits inside two feet of the million dollar pin wins $500!


How Did This 'Hole' Thing Get Started?

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

list of outstanding young men and women who provided a much-needed volunteer link between the business community and The University of Texas at Tyler.

Its purpose from the beginning was to "promote the academic, cultural and activity programs of UT Tyler," which included encouraging scholars and scholarships. In March 1986 this ambitious group created the Million Dollar Hole-In-One Contest in conjunction with what was the Eisenhower Golf Classic.

The Hole-in-One Contest provided an opportunity for daily winners, who were closest to the hole, in the week-long event to compete in a final shot at the $1 million prize. The funds raised created hundreds of student scholarships over the ensuing years.

In 2001, a permanent scholarship endowment was established with $29,000 of the Patriots' proceeds. The market value of this scholarship fund has grown to almost $600,000. The interest on this endowment provides the means for many UT Tyler students to attend college. Many of these young people might not have the opportunity without these funds.

With the decrease in state appropriations for higher education, these scholarships are needed now more than ever. The Million Dollar Hole-in-One Contest allows the community to take a proactive role to ensure that East Texas is a well-educated region.

UT Tyler Patriot Original Charter Members

Dean Bailey

Henry M. Bell III

J. Lindsey Bradley, Jr.

Brad W. Brookshire

Wayne Brown

John Bufe

Tommy Butler

G. Stuart Chesley

Dennis Darryl

Buster J. Fitzgerald

Sam V. Guerin, Jr.

Larry Hickman

Dianne Holton

Phil Hurley

H. Lee Loftis, Jr.

Gene Meier

Dr. James M. Muse

Vicki Noble

Robert Patterson, Jr.

George L. Pearson

Robert S. Pirtle

Whit Riter

Stephenie Roberts

George Shannon

Donald Simmons

Betty Summers

Dr. J. Dan Toney

Joy Turns

Diane Wall

Ted W. Walters

Chris Woldert

Neil G. Yow, Jr.

UT Tyler is proud of the extensive group of volunteers who support our programs and special events. You, too, can contribute and help extend the reach of the university.


UT Tyler